The Fault in Our Stars

Currently Reading

The Fault in Our Stars

John Green

ISBN:  9780142424179

After hearing so many good things about this book (and a good bit of curiosity seeing that they would be making it into a movie), I decided that I had to read this book.  And, I’ve found that recently there have been some really great young adult books on the market that even adults can enjoy.  So, I went out and picked up my copy.  Once I started reading it, I couldn’t put it down. I literally finished this book in two days. It was one of those books that I enjoyed so much, it felt like my “normal” life was interrupting when I couldn’t read.

Summary

Cancer patient Hazel Lancaster is living with a terminal diagnosis.  Although her therapy has been successful in giving her a few more years, there is no doubt that her case is incurable.  Hazel has come to terms with this, until she meets the fabulous Augustus Waters at her parent-mandated Cancer Kids Support Group.  Suddenly, life isn’t as black and white as it had seemed.  Where Hazel once had everything figured out, she’s now about to discover what a plot twist can be in real life.

What I Liked

I loved that this book was fluid, emotional, and real.  As a narrator, Hazel tells her story exactly the way that I would expect if she were a teenage girl sitting across from me.  There is sarcasm, there is confusion, and there is emotion, but it rarely seems forced.  I also love that this book doesn’t shy away from difficult issues – death and decisions are real in every page.  Not everything is an easy choice, and the good guys don’t always win.  But, the book is more powerful for that.

What I Didn’t Like

Honestly, it’s hard to find something that I didn’t like about this book.  It was well written, had excellent plot development, and addressed issues that many books won’t.  If I had any complaints, it would be that perhaps a few of the supplemental characters, like Kaitlyn, were not really developed in story.  But, being the love story of Hazel and Augustus, that’s also something that I’m willing to overlook.

Overall Feeling

This was one of the best books that I’ve read in a long time.  I love a book that inspires emotion in me, and this book definitely did this. I laughed, and I cried, and I lived every moment of it. I definitely put this book on a must-read list for anyone who appreciates a good love story, or even someone just looking to take a harder look at themselves and life.  It may be a work of fiction, but this book is one of those true gems that inspires us to look in and beyond ourselves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

