Flannel Friday: Going on a Picnic

In honor of Labor Day and the end of summer, this week in story time we took on picnics.  After looking through our existing felt boards, I found that we didn’t have anything that had food or picnics in it, so…creation time!  Here’s a picture of the overall set:

IMG_0259

The set contains a picnic basket, a blanket, a plate, a napkin, a fork, a spoon, a slice of bread, a piece of meat, a piece of lettuce, a tomato, a piece of cheese, a slice of watermelon, a bag of chips, a glass of lemonade, and a batch of cookies.  I got the idea and the rhyme from Neverlandarling, but I modified the song to fit the pieces that I created.  All of the pieces are created from various Clipart images that matched what I thought we would need on a picnic.  Here’s an idea of how it would go:

IMG_0260

Going on picnic, leaving right away.  If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the picnic basket?  (Yes, I brought the picnic basket!)

Did you bring the picnic blanket?  (Yes, I brought the picnic blanket!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

Going on picnic, leaving right away.  If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the plate?  (Yes, I brought the plate!)

Did you bring the napkin?  (Yes, I brought the napkin!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

Going on picnic, leaving right away.  If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the fork?  (Yes, I brought the fork!)

Did you bring the spoon?  (Yes, I brought the spoon!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

IMG_0261

Going on picnic, leaving right away.  If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the bread?  (Yes, I brought the bread!)

Did you bring the meat?  (Yes, I brought the meat!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

Going on picnic, leaving right away.  If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the lettuce?  (Yes, I brought the lettuce!)

Did you bring the tomato?  (Yes, I brought the tomato!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

Going on picnic, leaving right away. If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the cheese?  (Yes, I brought the cheese!)

Did you bring the watermelon?  (Yes, I brought the watermelon!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

IMG_0262

Going on picnic, leaving right away.  If it doesn’t rain, we’ll stay all day.

Did you bring the chips?  (Yes, I brought the chips!)

Did you bring the lemonade?  (Yes, I brought the lemonade!)

Did you bring the cookies?  (Yes, I brought the cookies!)

Ready for a picnic, here we go!

The great thing about this set is that you can use as many or as few ingredients in your rhyme as you want, depending on the number of kids who want to participate.  You don’t have to have a fork and spoon on your picnic, but if you have extra kids – done!  No one has has to be left out and the rhyme can easily be repeated as many times as possible.  When I used it in story time, I asked the kids what they thought we needed for a picnic, and we did the pieces in the order they thought rather than sticking to a particular order from the song.

This week, Kathryn at Fun with Friends at Storytime is hosting the roundup.  For more information about Flannel Friday,  visit the website here, or join the Flannel Friday Facebook group, or check out the Flannel Friday boards on Pinterest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flannel Friday

Leave a Reply

